Butternut Squash Soup

This is one of my favorite soups in the fall and winter.  We decided to make it for lunches for the week.  It’s actually still in the slow cooker, so I don’t yet have a finished product, but it won’t look that different from what’s pictured above.

IMG_2152All of our ingredients (minus the squash already in the crockpot).  The recipe doesn’t call for it, but I like to add some crushed red pepper to give it a little kick.  Simply chop them up and throw them in the pot!

IMG_2151

I got the squash already cut up because I’ve had some issues cutting it myself in the past… It also took out a lot of the labor for me!

IMG_2149

Luckily, I had my little helper to clean up anything I dropped on the floor!

IMG_2154

This recipe is so simple and you can kind of set it and forget it.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours, then you can enjoy!  I’m actually planning on puree-ing it in the blender because I really like the smooth/chunky texture you get with that.  I recommend adding a dollop of cream cheese or yogurt to your finished soup!

This recipe is from Paleo Slow Cooker- another great book!  (Excuse my poor photo cropping skills.)

IMG_2155

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 onion
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 3-4 carrots, chopped
  • 32 ounces chicken stock or broth
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Peel the butternut squash, and cut it in half lengthwise.  Scoop the seeds, cube the squash, and add it to the slow cooker.  (Or get the butternut squash that has already been cubed.)
  • Chop the onions, celery, and carrots, and add them to the slow cooker.
  • Add the chicken broth, cover, and cook on low for six to eight hours.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste.

3 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. That looks delicious! I’ve been on a soup kick lately. I’ll have to get a butternut squash next time I go shopping!

    Like

  2. I use a stick blender and purée it right in the pot, have never tried it with celery and carrots, but will give it a shot next time. I add a pinch of cayanne pepper also and last time some grated orange zest, which surprisingly brightened it up!

    Like

Leave a comment